Tea Sundance The Film Festival has revealed the winners of the Jury and Audience Awards for 2023.

Big winners of the day included Maryam Keshavarz’s the persian versionwhich won both the Audience Award and the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award in the US Dramatic Competition, as well as the AV Rockwell Award thousand and moree by Focus Features, which took the Grand Jury Prize in the same section.

Other titles that garnered top awards included Festival Favorite Radical from filmmaker Christopher Zalla and 3Pas Studios; Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson, who won the Grand Jury Prize for American Documentary; Madeleine Gavin’s beyond utopia, which won the US Documentary Audience Award; and D.Smith kokomo citywho dominated the NEXT section by claiming both the Innovator and Audience Award.

Written, directed and produced by Keshavarz for Archer Grey, the persian version watches a large Iranian-American family come together for the patriarch’s heart transplant, and then a secret is uncovered that catapults an estranged mother and daughter into an exploration of the past.

thousand and one follows the unapologetic and free-spirited Inez (Teyana Taylor) as she kidnaps 6-year-old Terry (Josiah Cross) from the foster care system, convinced it’s one last necessary crime on the road to redemption. Holding on to their secret and to each other, mother and son set out to reclaim their sense of home, identity, and stability in New York City. Lena Waithe is among the producers.

Radical follows a frustrated teacher (Eugenio Derbez) who explores new educational methods in a Mexican border town, with go to mars meditating on the life of poet Nikki Giovanni, and beyond utopia following families fleeing North Korea. Then, there’s the movie acquired by Magnolia Pictures. kokomo citycharting the experiences of four trans sex workers, as they grapple with the dichotomy between themselves and the black community.

Jurors in attendance for the Sundance Advertisement Awards, broadcast live to the festival’s social media channels from The Ray Theater in Park City, Utah, included Jeremy O. Harris and Marlee Matlin for the US Dramatic Competition. USA, Ramona Diaz and Carla Gutiérrez for the USA Documentary Competition, Funa Maduka for the World Cinema Dramatic Competition, and Madeleine Olnek for NEXT.

The 2023 festival has highlighted 111 feature films and 64 shorts, selected from 15,856 submissions, through screenings in Park City, Salt Lake City and Sundance Resort. More than 75% of the works, both short and long, along with many selected independent episodes, will be available to stream through the festival’s online platform until January 29.

Sundance’s first in-person festival since the Covid pandemic was marked by a series of major sales, most of which we were first to report. The first title to secure big business was the Chloe Domont thriller. Fair play, starring Phoebe Dynevor and Alden Ehrenreich, which went to Netflix for around $20 million. John Carney’s musical drama flora and sonstarring Eve Hewson and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, went to Apple for much the same, with Searchlight taking over for impromptu ensemble comedy. theater camp for about $8 million. Mubi picked up Ira Sachs’ relationship drama crosseswith A24 in talks to acquire Midnight title tell me starting Tuesday, and MTV Documentary Films has chosen Maite Alberdi as the winner of the Grand Jury Prize for World Cinema Documentary the eternal memoryas announced this morning.

Last year’s Sundance ceremony cemented the award track of four of the five nominees for the 2023 Documentary Feature Oscar, those titles being Navalni (Documentary Competition Audience Award, Favorite Festival Award), fire of love (Jonathan Oppenheim Award for Publishing), everything that breathes (World Cinema Documentary Competition Documentary Award) and A house made of chips (Prize for the Direction of the World Documentary Competition). The festival proved even more relevant to the previous year’s awards run, with Sian Heder’s Best Picture Oscar winner. coda and winner of Questlove’s Best Doctor Award summer of the soul highlighting his finger on the pulse through narrative and documentary.

See the list of winners for 2023 below.


Director: Cristobal Zalla


Grand Jury Prize

the thousand and one
Director: A. V. Rockwell

Audience Award

the persian version
Director: Maryam Keshavarz

directing award

Sing J. Lee
The driver of the accidental escape

Jury Award: Creative Vision

Dreams Magazine
Director: Elijah Bynum

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award

Maryam Keshavarz
the persian version

Special Jury Prize: Performance

lio mehiel

Jury Prize: Together

theater camp
Directors: Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman


Grand Jury Prize

Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project
Directors: Joe Brewster, Michele Stephenson

Audience Award

beyond utopia
Director: Madeline Gavin

directing award

Lucas Lorentzen
a small quiet voice

Special Jury Award: Clarity of Vision

the walk
Directors: Kristen Lovell, Zackary Drucker

Special Jury Prize: Freedom of Expression

bad press
Directors: Rebecca Landsberry-Baker, Joe Peeler

Jonathan Oppenheim Award for Editing

Daniela I Quiroz
Go Varsity in Mariachi


Audience Award

20 days in Mariupol (Ukraine)
Director: Mstylav Chernov

Grand Jury Prize

the eternal memory (Chili)
Director: Maite Alberdi

directing award

Brotherhood of the Smoke Sauna (Estonia/France/Ireland)
Director: Anna Suggestions

Special Jury Prize: Verite Filmmaking

against the tide (India)
Director: Sarvnik Kaur

Special Jury Prize: Creative Vision

fantastic machine (Sweden/Denmark)
Director: Axel Danielson


Audience Award

shayda (Australia)
Directed by: Noora Niasari

Grand Jury Prize

Scrapping (UK)
Directed by: Charlotte Regan

directing award

Marija Kavtaradze
Slow (Lithuania/Spain/Sweden)

Special Jury Prize: Creative Vision

animalia (France/Morocco/Qatar)
Director: Sofia Alaoui

Special Jury Prize: Best Performance

rose dealer
when it melts (Belgium/Netherlands)

Special Jury Prize: Photography

Lilis Soares
mommy wata (Nigeria)


Audience Award

kokomo city
Director: D Smith

Innovative Award

kokomo city
Director: D Smith


Grand Jury Prize

When you left me on that boulevard (USA)
Director: Kayla Abuda Galang

Jury Prize: American Fiction

rest stop
Director: Crystal Kayiza

Jury Prize: Direction, International

valeria hofmann
AlienEN0089 (Chili)

Jury Award: Directing, USA

Jarreau Carrillo
the holidays

Jury Prize: Animation

the flying sailor
Directors: Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbis (Canada)

Jury Prize: Nonfiction

will you look at me (Porcelain)
Director: Shuli Huang

Jury Prize: International Fiction

The kidnapping of the bride (Germany)
Director: Sofia Mocorrea


Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Award

The generation of pods
Director: Sophie Barthes

Amazon Studios Nonfiction Award

jess devaney
It’s just life after all

Amazon Studios Fiction Award

kara durett
the starling girl

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Editing Nonfiction

Mary Manhardt

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Fiction Editing

Troy Takaki

Sundance/NHK Award

olive tree nwosu

Sundance Institute | Star Collective Imagination Awards

Tamara Shōgaolu
40 acres

Navid Khonsari, Vassiliki Khonsari and Andrés Pérez-Duarte
Block Party Bodega

vanessa keith
year 2180

Gayle Stevens Volunteer Award

carlos sanchez

By sbavh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *